Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

LTD f-255: I would like some info please.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Saorex, Mar 7, 2004.

1. Saorex

Saorex

Mar 7, 2004
    Quebec, Canada
    Hello. I'm a brand new member here and I'm asking for your advices.

I've been playing bass for about 6 years now: mostly metal and punk but also some jazz old rock.

I currently own and old (20 years) Vantage X-99 (4-strings). It's a great bass with really good neat and clear sound. I'm now looking for an affordable 5-strings and my choice stopped on the LTD F-255. I tryed the F-254 in a store and thought it sound great.

I don't have a lot of technical knowledge about music instruments. I just try them, and decide if I like the sound I hear or not. But I've learned the f-255 is neckthrough and the f-205 was not... I'd like to know what difference does this make. Also, the f-255 is made of agathis (similar to maple). What sound does this produces compared to other woods?

Thanks!

2. invisiman

invisiman

Feb 22, 2004
    I am also very interested in this bass as well, but I haven't found any info on it yet, sorry.