Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

lubricants

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Phee, Feb 22, 2001.

1. Phee

Phee

Jan 2, 2001
    Maryland
    i just started playing upright, and my fingers are really sore. does anyone have any tips for lubricants to make my playing easier and less painful? i was reading in a magazine, fender bass streets, i think, that hemp oil was good (as well as the grease off of your nose!) do they really work? does anyone know of anything else that works good (and is cheap?)

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Weird as it sounds, the grease off your nose (or if you're not a spring chicken, off your scalp) is great for easing the skin stress of hours and hours of RH pizz playing before your callouses are built up. I had a lesson with Sigi Busch recently, and he gets it from behind his ears. (too much information? sorry if so...) When I was just starting out & was getting blisters a lot, I would even use chapstick on my 1st & 2nd RH fingers if I thought I was gonna die before the gig was over. It left a funky residue on the fingerboard but didn't seem to hurt anything.

Someone told me once that peanut oil works for the strings to help the LH, but I never tried it because for some odd reason my LH fingers hurt when I play a lot but never blister.

Good luck!

3. Tim Ludlam

Tim Ludlam

Dec 19, 1999
    Carmel, IN
    Oh Chris.......what, are you from Kentucky? (I know the answer, I too was raised in the hills.....Danville that is.. ya all come back now, ya here)

Anyway, I want no more talk about bodily secretions.

Thank you.

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY