Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Luthier's Who Are Inventors

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by DeepDeath, Apr 6, 2002.

1. Yes, Inventions are what progress basses

15 vote(s)
    88.2%
  2. No, A good luthier is always based on quality basses

3 vote(s)
    17.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Do you luthier's feel it is important to make a bass with something no other bass company has? Like the Warwick adjustable nuts. Or do you think it is fine to make a bass that sounds good and is easy to play, also well made. I feel a luthier should also try to invent new things to make the bass more easier and convient.

2. I have limited building experience, but I have paid a lot of attention to bass building so that when I start to build more regularily I will have a solid foundation on which to base my designs and construction methods.

I think on many things it comes down to the cliche "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". There are some things that I have seen used on basses in the past 10 years, but they tend not to be massive departures from the original basses that appeared 50+ years ago. I would personally say it is most important to produce a bass that is well constructed, is easy to play and sounds good. This is more difficult than it seems.