MAbey Im just a noob

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Rumple, Aug 14, 2005.

1. Rumple

May 12, 2005
    Alright so I had a couple shots and we started playing are set. I had problems with reference to my position on the neck due to fact that I had no visual on my fret location. I have a warwick thumb and it has no fret inlays as a reference point except for on the top of the neck....... warwick players will know what I mean. So anyway with all the strobes, crazy light show b.s I found myself lost in a couple of songs that had a lot of different positions. With no reference of frets I found this to be challenging. Mabey I am too dependant on the fret dots? Anyway was wondering if this is a prob that anyone else had had, or suggetstions. PRACTICE in the dark? Comments needed THANKS!
  2. The Nanny

The Nanny

Dec 23, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    It happened to me year ago...wierd lighting on stage and I couldn't see my fret dots, and duffed a few notes. Ever since, I practice with my eyes closed.
  3. +1. :)
  4. +1 on the eyes closed.

I think we all flubbed a note or two when you start off with a blacked out stage and then they start in with the strobes and what not.

I would practice my scales in two octaves with out looking, usually staring at a TV screen or what ever. Then switch to doing the arpeggios in two octaves. It seem to do the trick, most of the time now I don't look at the fingerboard at all. Most of this came from seeing early videos of myself and how my eyes would be fixed on the fingerboard. It looked amateurish and took away a point or two in the performance department IMO.

Just practice with out looking. eyes closed, dark room, (watch out for that chair :smug: ) whatever. It will become second nature.

Pardon the pun, but look at it from Stevie Wonders point of view.
    Keyboard, drums, etc....
  5. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)