1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Machinist vocational schools? Underpriveleged?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Foamy, Dec 5, 2006.

1. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    My dad passed away a week last Friday. He was a machinist for decades and has a lot of machinist's tools. As a woodworker, I can use just a few, and I cherish them. But there are a lot of tools that I don't know how I would ever use them.
    Among these tools are some very nice chucks, cutting head holders (not sure what they are really called), and a lot of "weird" measurement tools, a lot of packs of carbide cutters, set-up blocks, etc... Some Starrett, some Mitutoyo, and some German chucks.
    Although these tools are nice and I am sure have some value, I am certain my dad would want them to be put to use.
    I want to give them to a place that would not otherwise be able to afford them. I am just not sure where to start looking for such a place.
    Are there any machinists out there who may know of maybe an underpriveledged vocational training location? Or any other ideas? I could sell them on eBay and donate the money, but I think dad would want them to help others.
    I appreciate any helpful suggestions.

2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    I'd start with you local machnist union hall/lodge. Here are a few that may be near you: California Lodge Information.

Good for you to think of others ahead of yourself. Many people would see a wad of cash in those tools and go about selling them for profit.

-Mike

3. 73jbass

73jbass Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2004
    Ellenwood,Ga.