Macintosh Recording Software ?'s

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by fender58, May 9, 2003.

1. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Southern California
    I have a program I got for free called "Audacity" for my IMac G3 running system 9.2. Does anybody know of another that will work for a Mac? I am new to this computer recording and would like to try whatever is available, hopefully shareware or freeware. BTW the Audacity seems good if not a bit unstable, at least with my IMac. I do have 160 megs of RAM which I would think would be plenty? Anybody else using Audacity?

Thanks, Danny

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    www.versiontracker.com
    gobs of downloadable software, catogorized, with search engine.

I use Sound studio, for basic audio recording on my iMac running OS X.2

3. rygelxvi

rygelxvi

Jan 6, 2003
    I believe there is a trial version of pro tools. Its only missing a few features. When your ready to spend the money look into Digital preformer or logic.

4. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Southern California
    I found the ProTools free version which is very nice. I also tried one that was recomended called Audacity. Audacity I found very easy to figure out and fine for learning. The ProTools has a lot going on and I am guessing the "real" version has more to offer. How much is ProTools, as in $'s?. The free version only allows importing of .AIFF files as far as I have learned.

5. secretdonkey

secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    Okay, this is literally my FIRST venture into the Recording forum - but I came here to check out opinions on Pro Tool's MBox, which comes with the MBox I/O hardware and Pro Tools LE for $495. At first newbie glance, this looks like the 'entry level' Pro Tools option...

6. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Southern California