Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Macintosh Recording Software ?'s

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by fender58, May 9, 2003.

1. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Southern California
    I have a program I got for free called "Audacity" for my IMac G3 running system 9.2. Does anybody know of another that will work for a Mac? I am new to this computer recording and would like to try whatever is available, hopefully shareware or freeware. BTW the Audacity seems good if not a bit unstable, at least with my IMac. I do have 160 megs of RAM which I would think would be plenty? Anybody else using Audacity?

Thanks, Danny

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    www.versiontracker.com
    gobs of downloadable software, catogorized, with search engine.

I use Sound studio, for basic audio recording on my iMac running OS X.2

3. rygelxvi

rygelxvi

Jan 6, 2003
    I believe there is a trial version of pro tools. Its only missing a few features. When your ready to spend the money look into Digital preformer or logic.

4. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Southern California
    I found the ProTools free version which is very nice. I also tried one that was recomended called Audacity. Audacity I found very easy to figure out and fine for learning. The ProTools has a lot going on and I am guessing the "real" version has more to offer. How much is ProTools, as in $'s?. The free version only allows importing of .AIFF files as far as I have learned.

5. secretdonkey

secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    Okay, this is literally my FIRST venture into the Recording forum - but I came here to check out opinions on Pro Tool's MBox, which comes with the MBox I/O hardware and Pro Tools LE for $495. At first newbie glance, this looks like the 'entry level' Pro Tools option...

6. fender58

fender58 Guest

Sep 8, 2000