Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mackie bashing.

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Munjibunga, May 24, 2002.

1. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I was reading a recording newsgroup, and there were a couple guys who just bash the crap out of Mackie boards. I've been using a 1604 VLZ for 7 years doing live sound indoors and out, and I really like the sound and the layout of the board. Now I also have a 1402 VLZ Pro, and it is a great little board for rehearsal and small venues.

I've never had to have one repaired, and I find them easy to set up and use. The sound is excellent. Am I a dork for liking these boards? I've looked at Allen & Heath, and their layout seems counter-intuitive. They also cost 50% more than a comparable Mackie. I doubt that they sound much better than the Mackie.

Somebody set me straight, please. Give me logic and rational thought, though, not bile and vitriol.

2. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    My experiences are the same as yours, Munji. I think lots of people like to bash Mackie to make themselves feel better about all the money they spent for the same performance the Mackie provides. Trying to convince themselves somehow that they made the right decision.

BTW, I know several local sound men who have large arena-size consoles by different high-end makers. Almost all of them use Mackie 16 or 24 channel boards for their smaller setups.

3. Munjibunga

May 6, 2000
    Maybe I'm not going insane. I think Mackie may have had a problem with some ribbon connectors, but I've never had a prob. I've even had my mini-cosole tip over with my 1604 inside with no ill effects. Well, let's see what else pops up here.

4. zombywoof5050

zombywoof5050