Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mag300H VS Peavey MAX450?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sonorous, Feb 4, 2005.

1. Sonorous

Sonorous

Oct 1, 2003
    Denton, TX
    Well?

I've brought home a Peavey MAX450 from a local guitar store. I'm able to just borrow it and try it for a while because the owner is friends with my dad. However there aren't any Ashdown dealers around, so I can't try that at all.

I could buy the Peavey for $300 and the Ashdown for the same from the internet.

I do like the Peavey. However, the 450 watts is only available at 2 ohms. Its only doing 170 with my 8 ohm Avatar.

And the Peavey is a Peavey, which might mean its bad. I'm not that experienced with amps and don't know how good this amp actually is because I havn't had much to compare it to. Now, I'm not saying I don't like it because it says Peavey on it, but Peavey does seem to have a reputation for being cheap. If I could try the Ashdown and I still liked the Peavey more, I would get the Peavey without worrying about the label.

Ok, so I know I like the Peavey. I'm asking you if you think the Ashdown is better. Please to tell me to get the Peavey because I know I like it, or not to fix something that isn't broken.

P.S. Is there a way to make my 4x10 Avatar a 4 ohm cab instead of a 2 ohm? If it involved wiring things, my dad could handle that. As long as it doesn't involve new speakers, then I'd like to know. Or if there is a way to just fool the amp into thinking there is an extra cab so it'll push more watts, but not break anything.

Oh, and I like clean, warm sounds.

2. I like Peavey. It's built well, at least the older stuff is, and lasts forever. Their customer service has been excellent--they sent me free knobs to replace a couple of missing knobs, for example. IMHO Peavey is a great value for the money.