Mahogany for the body - Yay or Nay?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by bino, Aug 19, 2004.

1. bino

bino Supporting Member

Jun 27, 2002
    Orange County
    When I think mahogany I hear warm, overdriven Gibson guitars. How does it work for bass? Is it much different than ash or alder? Is there enough attack on notes, or is it too indistinct? Just curious because I've have access to a pile of it.
  2. McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    I'm no expert, BUT...

I'm one of those OCD types, & have jumped into building my own parts bass,,, so I researched it ad-naseaum. You DO see mahogany used, & resonant qualities in that wood, are what they are... Nice fat, warm, especially on bottom.

It's funny, because I think people are starting to turn to Limba/Korina more,,, when it comes to bass... AND, it just so happens that at least one reference I've seen describes the tonal qualities of Limba/Korina as "Mahogany Plus". and is, "Great for Basses".

My parts bass has a Black Korina body, but its not quite done, so I can't tell you EXACTLY how different it is than say,,, Ash... But, soon.
  3. mikezimmerman

mikezimmerman Supporting Member

Apr 29, 2001
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Mahogany is one of my favorite woods for a bass body! There seems to be a nice midrange fullness to the mahogany basses I've owned (Wal and Curbow, among others) that I really like. It does tend to be a little "dark" sounding, though, so combining it with a maple or ebony fretboard seems to bring back a bit of "zing" to the top end, based on my experience with Wals anyway.

4. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
  5. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I really don't know why it would matter much.

Honduran mahogany is the wood that established it as a legendary tonewood and you may have a tough time try to get some since tje US and the CITES II conference people are trying to protect it.