Mahogany or Walnut

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by JacksonsMen, Dec 27, 2007.

1. ok, so im revisiting my MM'd Pbass project that i kind of abandoned a while back and im on to the body, I'm going to be getting a warmoth P bass rear routed body. im just down to wood selection...now ive seen some really nice looking walnut in these threads lately but i also know mahogany is a beautiful sounding wood but its heavy as all get out...

so what are some of the pros and cons to either one? the price isnt really a big deal since they're both about the same (200/mahogany vs. 235/ walnut)

2. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    Doesn't the Warmoth site have a page explaining the general differences in woods? Might be the Allparts site. I think, in general terms, mahogany's tone is considered more rounded while walnut is slightly brighter with good upper-mid response. I'm far from an expert though. Walnut looks better IMO.

3. the page was '404 error' when i tried to look at the description page a while ago....so i came here

4. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Born under punches

Aug 21, 2006
    Denver, CO
    I always thought of walnut as more dense/heavier than mahogany. Either way, mahogany never struck me as a particularly heavy wood. Heavier than swamp ash and alder generally, but not heavy compared to ebony, bubinga or wenge.

But I'm not a builder so take everything with a grain of salt.

5. tjclem

tjclem Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    "Mahogany" can vary in weight a great deal I haven't noticed that in Walnut as much but I haven't worked with it as much either...t

6. eleonn

eleonn

Aug 24, 2006
    Lima - Perú
    Having both a nice sound I prefer the looks of walnut. Walnut makes me remember chocolate which is my drug :)

7. UncleBalsamic

UncleBalsamic

Jul 8, 2007
    UK
    I think walnut looks nicer as well, sounds great too!

8. allenhumble

allenhumble