Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Main differences in Ibanez BTB series.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kogo, May 26, 2001.

1. kogo

kogo

May 26, 2001
    I'm a bass beginner looking for a nice 5 string, which I should never have to upgrade. I see that the Ibanez BTB 405 is about half the price of the BTB 1005. The 505 is somewhere in between. What are the main differences between these models?

2. Correct me if I'm wrong, but someone told me the 1005 was produced in Japan instead of Korea. Hence the difference.

By the way, the BTB's kick SR-ass!

3. Tsal

Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    For info, check out Ibanez's Japanise site at www.ibanez.co.jp - much better than US site.

4. IlLu50rY

IlLu50rY

Jan 15, 2000
    I think i have a BTB 5005 (is there anyway to know the model in the series)
    This is cos it has a locking lead input where you have to push a button to let it out.
    Man sg's suck my freind has one(5 string) and the strings are floppy as and too close together to properlly slap. I think their desinged for maybe pick players and heavy metal players (as a lot of bands that use one are).

5. RedGrange

RedGrange

Jun 11, 2000
    Springfield, IL
    The BTB is the only Ibanez bass since the ATK that I have actually wanted. I think I'm going to get the 515 in a little while.

6. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    Actually IILu50rY, all BTBs have Neutrik Locking Jacks.

Here:

BTB40X- Alder body with thin Quilted Maple top. A lot of people say its Basswood, but it sounds like Alder to me! If it is Basswood, I don't care, because it sounds pretty good! The neck is also symmetrical on this model. Body is gloss finished, truss rod cover is plastic.

BTB50X- Solid ash body withwax (oil and wax maybe?) finish, stripped ebony truss rod cover, thinner asymmetrical neck. Available in Fretless.