Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

MAJOR PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassline1414, Sep 17, 2000.

1. About 2 years ago, I got my first bass, a Danelectro Longhorn bass. For awhile I didn't have a bass amp cuz I just wanted to play, I wansnt in a band or anything. A few months after I got my first amp, I started playing bass in jazz band, and about that time I got a really REALLY good deal on a Fender MIA Presicion, so my Dano got kind of ignored. So for a long time, when I play my Dano through an amp, it makes cracking noises and snapping noises and its really loud, so then I look at the input. I notice than when I put the cord in it is kind of loose. Does anyone know why this is happening, and if so, how I can fix it? Thanks for your time....

2. Bring it to a tech man.. sorry I can't help =P

-Willz

3. Hi, I'm Bob and I'll be your mechanic today. Watcha got here is a misalignment of the gerabulator with the plastizone. Not a big deal - runya $30 plus parts and I can have it forya on Tuesday:)

Seriously, it isn't the end of the world. Your crackling could be from dirt in the pots (the knob thingies) and you can get that clean by going to RadioShack and getting a can of contact cleaner. Spray it in the enclosures and let it dry. The loose plug is one if two things - either the half nut (the thin little nut) on the outside has loosened and needs tightening or the positive contact on the inside of the jack is out of alignment and needs bending into place. The positive is the long, flat contact with the funny bend at the end. While you are looking at it put the cable plug in the jack and see if it is loose. If it is, remove the cable, and carefully give a slight bend inwards. That should make the plug nice and tight.

For anything else, see Bob.

4. pkr2

pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.