Make a bass pre-amp from a guitar amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by groov'ster, Aug 30, 2005.

1. Along time ago I used to play the g****r and used a small practice at home. When I started playing the bass I once again used the same amp for my practice amp. I get an awesome clean sound and tone from the amp and am considering turning the amp into a pre-amp for my main rig.
    The amp is only 15 watts, has no external out(s) except for the headphone. I am going to see if that (headphone) will work going into my main head as a pre-amp. If it DOES NOT how could I wire it up to use it as a pre-amp?
    Would 15 watts be enough to send to my main head?
    Currently I only turn it up about halfway to get the sound so that would be about 6-7 watts, would that be enough?

Any suggestions?
  2. Matt H

Matt H

Jul 30, 2005
    Ithaca, NY
    do NOT run the speaker out jack of your little amp into your head!!!

the headphone out should work decently well...

but- you should consider building a load box for the little amp with an actual DI.

actually, if this is a solid state amp, you could build a simple lineout with just a speaker and likely run the amp without a load.
  3. There are cheap little things around, like the behringer DI, that can handle power amp outputs. Then from there to your head.
  4. It only has the headphone out, not a speaker out.
    It is solid state though.

Forgive my ignorance in this area. but if I hear you, what you are saying is to connect a DI to the amp that would run to the head.
    How / where would I get the signal from the amp? Should I make a 1/4 jack from the Speaker wires of the amp or should I catch the signal from the internal componets of the amp?
  5. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH