Making 2 Neck-throughs from 1 blank?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by davee5, Sep 14, 2004.

1. davee5

Sep 14, 2004
    Monterey, CA
    Hi, I'm a new member, first post. Even more accurately first new bassist, first bass (I am a confessed guitarist aspiring to expand his repertoire), This may be my first bass built or owned, but it's not my first stab at luthiery. I have built solid body guitars before and have a reasonable bit of woodworking experience, but the whole bass itself is relatively foreign to me.

My primary question:
    -As I am building up a laminated neck blank, what dimensions or cutting orientations would be required to coax 2 necks out of one blank? I have a friend who plays bass professionally that I'm trying to sell my 2nd, simultaneous creation to. I told him I'd charge the price of the materials and like $50 for my time, so I want to make 2 necks out of the one "paid for" blank to offset costs for my own bass.

I am planning on making a neck through, and I'd like to avoid using a scarf joint if possible to minimize the number of places I could screw up.

Some ideas I've kicked around my uninformed head regarding getting 2 necks out of 1 large chunk of wood:

-Oppose and invert the necks to be roughly cut out so the backs of the necks and bodies are aligned. (like fitting 2 very stretched out "L's" together. I figure if done well with 1 careful bandsaw cut this would require about 3-4" x 50"+ of material. Create the headstock with a scarf joint (not ideal).

-Oppose and invert the necks as described before, but out of a longer (60"?) block to hang the headstocks over the ends of the bodies. This is starting to feel like Tetris with necks.