Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Making a crossover. Help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jock, May 2, 2005.

1. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I have a really nice Glockenklang UNO 1x15" cab. Id like to ad some highs to this cab by adding a Beyma 605Nd mid/high driver in a separate box. I think I will go with a second order filter but how do I choose the crossover frequency? Do I need to have a lowpass filter for the 15" or is it enough to use a high pass filter for the 6" ?
    Please help. Im quite new to this but I have read as much as I have found about this. Here is a link to the mid driver:
    http://profesional.beyma.com/ENGLISH/detalle.php?id=110

A similar cab by Hevos with a 15 and 6 crosses over at 2500Hz but I thought that sounds like too high on paper and I dont know wich order they use. :confused:

2. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    It's difficult to say for sure without T/S specs, but the implied f3 of 150Hz would indicate that a crossover at 150 or higher is OK. I'd cross over at the point where the 15 can be expected to start beaming, and that would be about 800 Hz. Stay away from second order, as that is prone to phase difficulties. I'd run 3rd order HP on the six. I would use a 1st order LP on the woofer as well for a proper impedance load and to divert high frequencies that the 15 can't properly reproduce into the 6. You can get your component values here: http://www.lalena.com/audio/calculator/xover/

3. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Thanks!
    The 6´s TS parameters are in the links PDF file.
    Anything special I should consider when choosing components? I see big difference in prices between caps and caps etc.

Also should I use third order Bessel or Butterworth filters?