making a living as a bassist

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by xXMunchXx, Feb 28, 2005.

1. xXMunchXx

Jan 16, 2005

As a budding talented bassist I am looking at what are the hard facts of making a living as a bassist.

1. what are the fairly easy reachable goals for working as a bassist if I am stunning and creative as a bassist.
    (ie. Are there alot of excellent bassists... never finding their way out of their basements?)

2. Is more work in certain types of bass styles etc which types?

3. What types of work make for a reasonable ability to make a decent living playing bass? Studio? Internist? (forget the word for that... )

4. Do most guys end up playing 2 bit gigs most of their lives?

5. In other words... does talent/skill+creativity quite often go nowhere?

Hopefully I am asking guys who have a fairly good/bad experiences...and how it happened for them. (Was luck/connections mostly involved?)

I heard a lot about starving musicians from my dad... just need some input from guys who know what its like in the real world.

2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    I'll answer your last question first - yes, there are loads of excellent bassists who don't play outside their own houses.

Reachable goals? Depends on how you define reachable. If you want to tread a path that's already carved out, then your first step will be playing cover tunes. could be top 40, jazz standards, blues, country, rockabilly - whatever, that's where the majority of working bassists make their money. The pay scale goes from appalling through to pretty good salary - very few people are getting rich doing this. But if you want to get rich, music is about as reliable as doing the lottery.