1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Making a new body for my SUB

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by rojo412, Feb 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. rojo412

rojo412 Sit down, Danny... Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    Though I really love the bass, my Status-necked Musicman SUB is pretty blah looking. So I decided I want to make a new body for it. I'm pretty new to most "major work" like this, but I like to learn by doing. So this is my journal of the process...

I stripped the body of parts:

IMG_2321.
    Taped around the edge for the bearing of the router to ride along:

IMG_2323.JPG
    And attached a piece of 1/4" MDF to the back, using the neck mount holes, some screws, and a piece of tape to hold the back in place. I then rough cut it with the band saw.

IMG_2325.
    I took it to my home made router table and duplicated the shape, as well as routed out the battery cavity. And VOILA!

IMG_2329.
    With the basic template made, I used it to cut the "bottom" with 1/2" MDF. This way, I could screw it up if I had to and not damage my body. Plus, the 1/4" is like a "sketch pad" in this process.

IMG_2330.JPG

IMG_2331.JPG

So with that done, I routed the neck pocket, control cavity, and pickup rout by sandwiching the SUB body between the templates and used the router to trace everything with the 3/8" pattern bit.

IMG_2334.JPG
    And I test fit the parts to make sure all was jiving.

IMG_2336.JPG
    So now, I just had to make the "top" template. And from what I saw online, people who made those allowed for the neck pocket area to be a larger surface and didn't cut the "horns", so the router had a nice surface to use. I decided to follow that as well...

IMG_2337.JPG

IMG_2338.JPG