1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

making a song

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Acufone, Oct 5, 2017.

1. Acufone

Acufone Commercial User

Oct 5, 2017
    I was making a song on my laptop, I have recorded a piano part and wanted to add a bass part, what would I play on bass to make it go with the piano?

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Masks, people, masks!
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    Start with roots of each chord.

Acufone likes this.
  3. Acufone

Acufone Commercial User

Oct 5, 2017
    Well I’m playing F, A, C, E together. Plus I’m a drummer so I don’t know much about bass and piano but thanks

4. monsterthompson

monsterthompson The Eighth Note Wonder Of The World

Nov 25, 2008
    Hollywood
    As stated, play the roots for a start. Line them up with the kick drum hits. Simple, but effective.

Next, learn a little music theory and return for more advice. We can't tell you what to do if you don't speak the language.

5. There is no possible response to your question because it is way to vague. It is exactly like asking this "hey, I have two feet and own a surfboard so what advice would you give me to be a better surfer"
    The only possible possible response is "take some music (or surfing?) lessons and learn basic music theory i.e root, third minor or major, fifth..."

6. Acufone

Acufone Commercial User

Oct 5, 2017
    No it’s not, you just don’t understand what I’m asking is, do you have to play certain notes on the bass to make it go with the piano. I may be saying this wrong but like I said I’m a drummer so I hardly know anything about this stuff

7. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii