1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Making amends with an old band member

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by oniman7, Mar 5, 2013.

1. So some of you read an old thread I posted about incredibly drama with a band member's girlfriend that ended up breaking the band up (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f67/bizznitches-crazy-what-do-882679/index3.html I recommend a high tolerance for crazy before reading).

The guitarist and I went to the same high school ( I graduated last year ) and our last show was the battle of the bands there. ) and it got me thinking. I really miss the band. With the exception of the singer in that last link we all got along great. They were my closest friends and we spent more time (40-50 hours a week) on the band and with each other than any other time. The drummer and I went to shows together, built isolation booths for vocals, all kinds of things.

I've been thinking a lot on what went wrong. Coming from the drummer, a lot of things happened that are unacceptable.

But after almost a year of thinking, I've come to accept that maybe my role in it was a catalyst. Shortly before all this the singer and I were having a lot of fights that resulted in him being voted out of the band. The drummer got caught in the middle and we both sort of coerced him to take a side in fights and give us an opinion instead of opting out. I see that the more he pushed him, the stronger his involvement became.