1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Making home made 1x10/12. Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BackstagePlus, Jan 20, 2012.

1. BackstagePlus

BackstagePlus

Jan 20, 2012
    In My House
    I'm considering on making a custom bass cab, with a 10" speaker and a 12". I have been fed up with my combo Peavey 112 as I've heard it will only be loud enough to be heard when pushed really hard, something that I don't like to to to my equipment (People aren't the only things that suffer from stress) and although it won't be ready for my first rehearsal. I was considering making it out of 3/4" plywood, painting it black (tolex is too common, looking for something different) and making the face(front panel) red with a black metal grill on the front. I have never done this before and if anyone has ideas to make it better feel free to add your 2 cents, and if it seems like it will have me pulling my hair out of my head, please talk me out of it. As for a head, my dad has an old 200 watt Marshall major guitar head he doesn't use anymore (His Fender M80 pro is his rig now) If this is a bad idea, again feel free to talk me out of it. Thanks

2. canadian*eh

canadian*eh

Jan 4, 2006
    Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful
    If you wanting to make i 112 cab that will kick Butt Then Check this out fEARful™ enclosures for bass/drums/keys There is a lot more to building a cab then just making a box and putting some speakers in it and expecting it to sound good. I do wish you all the best though!! :)

3. BackstagePlus

BackstagePlus

Jan 20, 2012
    In My House
    Sorry, I forgot to mention that both the 10 and 12 may be going in the cab.

4. canadian*eh

canadian*eh

Jan 4, 2006
    Edmonton,Alberta,Canada