1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Making money with music

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by superhand, Sep 27, 2009.

1. superhand

superhand

Sep 14, 2009
    Fresno, CA
    I'm going to try to make this short and to the point. I want to make money making music, or at least doing something related to making music. I hate my job. There is nothing about it that I like. I go there to get paid and thats it. On the other hand I love music. Any ideas? suggestions?

Please don't say get a get a job at Guitar Center or something like that, if I had to listen to people noodling around all day and playing "Stairway to Heaven" and the solo to "Santeria" all day I would probably hate music after a while.

I'm not a great musician but I'm pretty good. I'm not trying to be a rockstar or anything like that. And even if the opportunity came about, I would not want to tour all the time. I like to be at home. I know there are guys out there who do it, you know just normal guys with wives, kids, mortgages, etc. who make a living playing music so help me out here. What can I do?

2. ::::BASSIST::::

::::BASSIST:::: Progress Not Perfection.

Sep 2, 2004
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Everything.

Let me clarify. Join at least 3 busy coverbands that play corporate and or well paying gigs. Teach bass. Write books that teach bass. Write articles for music mags. Learn how to repair gear and do setups and sell your service to do so.

And most importantly practice your ass off.

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX