Making slap sound good??

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by FUNKIESTMUNK, Feb 25, 2001.

Feb 25, 2001
    I have been playing bass for about three years now, however I am unable to achieve the classic slap bass sound that you hear on records (larry graham for instance). My technique is good and I have a proffesional set up- Trace Elliot SM 300 GP7 head with 4x10 and 1x15 cabs. I was wondering if I am not setting the Eq correctly on my amp head , and does anyone have any Eq shapes or suggestions that may improve my sound. Also at present I do not use compression, will this improve my slap sound? If so does anyone recommend any in particular for around £100 (145$)?

Thank you for your time....

-Richard Morgan
  2. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Oh, golly gee! Fifth place I've seen this posted. You don't have any patience, do you?
  3. i agree oysterman, u've got to practice, practice,practice,,

try altering the way in which u hit the strings ie,, outside edge of your thumb,, flat, aka mark king etc

it means A$$ what king of fancy bass you've got of the amount your willing to spend on accessories if u can't make a £100 bass through a piece of pants amp do it then you'll never do it,,

thats too harsh , you will do it just lay off twiddling with knobs and wack away

i'm not a great fan of slapping ,, i can do it well will my j bass and my TE boxer 30

(too many guys here, i think, have too much money to spend and not enough patience)

and thats coming from an 18 year old student with 1 1/2 years playing experience

think about it mate !!
  4. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Agree with what? :confused: I didn't say "practice", I said "patience". This thread was posted in five different forums. :)
  5. what i intended by taking the time to apply finger to qwerty was to point out that it takes time, thats why i'm not the kind of feking bassist thats got a bigger wallet than balls, and talent( not intended as a direct insult)