1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Making your own Rick style pickups?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Simski, Oct 2, 2010.

1. I am about to start working on my first homemade bass guitar, modeled on a Rickenbacker 4005. I have thought of going as far as making my own pickups for it and there certainly seem to be a lot of kits and tutorials ready for making single coil bass pickups. As far as I can see (I am not an electronics expert), their pickups are hi gain single coil but is that the same as meaning that one could make some oneself?

2. Stealth

Stealth

Feb 5, 2008
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Any pickup can be homemade, provided you have the right material and you know what the pickup looks like. As far as Ric pickups go, you could use 43 AWG wire, steel polepieces (some have used steel screws with large, round heads which were flattened even beforehand) and a ceramic bar magnet underneath.

At least this gentleman used to make them that way.

3. Hi, thanks for the answer. So I could use fx these:
    Polepieces
    Magnet
    And then shape the bobbins by hand from a piece of black fiber and buy or make an aluminium bracket for the bottom?

4. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Inactive Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Rick pickups use 44 AWG wire.

5. I noticed a thing regarding the Rick pickups - instead of using magnets in the bobbins they use steel plugs or screw under which is placed a magnet. Does this in any way change the sound of a pickup?

6. SGD Lutherie

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    It usually gives a warmer tone because the steel increases the inductance. Also except for the toaster pickups, which do use alnico V rod magnets, most Rick pickups use ceramic magnets. Usually when you use ceramic magnets, you use steel poles.