1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Man I just don't know how to get any better... anyone out there to help?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by petchimps123, Mar 28, 2009.

1. petchimps123

petchimps123

Mar 28, 2009
    I've been playing bass for about 2 1/2 years and I still feel like im not good enough. I can't really improv that well even though I know the scales that I learned in the Bass Guitar for Dummies book. I only know riffs to songs and when I try to play along with even the simplest songs I have trouble following along.

I used to be in a band but I got kicked out eventually because I didn't have a steady rhythm. I tried playing with the metronome but it just frustrates me. I have learned how to fit in when jamming, but I usually end up only playing one or two different notes for the whole song. The hardest song I probably can keep up with while playing along with it is Phantom of the Opera by Iron Maiden.

My question to you all is, how do I improve? I am very discouraged since I got kicked out of my old band and I'm thinking about giving up music since I'm not good at it. I see most of my friends in all these high school bands and it frustrates me that I'm not good enough to play live. Maybe college will have more music oppurtunities...

2. petchimps123

petchimps123

Mar 28, 2009
    More specifically, I'm looking for ways to improve my rhythm and I REALLY want to improve on improvising on bass by learning more scales. I mean, the pentatonic scale doesn't do anything for me. The notes are very limited.

3. Lonnybass

Lonnybass

Jul 19, 2000
    San Diego
    Endorsing Artist: Pedulla Basses
    My friend-