1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Man....What should I practice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by gfdhicool, Nov 2, 2013.

1. gfdhicool

gfdhicool

Jun 8, 2012
    I feel like I'm stuck in a void (I haven't been able to advance much in like the past week)

I've been playing for 1 year and 5 months.

I've pretty much got ear training down (I usually stick to 1 band per month on learning songs,since I don't wanna get all jumbled up).This month it's Iron Maiden and I already learned all their epics before and the little bass solos in a few of their songs(The Number of the Beast,etc)

I taught myself theory (I don't really want a teacher,since I like discovering things on my own).I know what chords are,the major scales,and a few arpeggios,and I can read music just fine.

I'm currently learning slap (I'm not really into funk,but I do love the Chili Peppers and I wanna eventually learn a few songs by ear from them),and maybe It'll be useful

I'm using a few drum loops to start coming up with my own lines,since I do actually plan on forming a band once I'm 18 and have money for better gear.

I know a bit of blues,so I may try to expand on this? I play a lot of Elvis Presley,but that's all the blues I know

What can I practice? I wanna grow...I don't wanna stay the same :(.

2. adi77

adi77 Banned

Mar 15, 2007
    bombay