Marcus miller style playing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by anonymous278347457, Mar 18, 2006.

1. anonymous278347457

anonymous278347457 Guest

Feb 12, 2005
    I listened to some of his stuff when i started playing bass(before i knew about slap). and it was amazing. now today, i listened to "power" again and tried to work some of it out. i got the first couple of riffs(basic groove, none of the fancy stuff). I just cant understand how he can pull of those "runs" so it the strength in his fingers + lots of practise? or is there some way to do it which i dont know about.

Im not trying to slap it by the way, just get the notes first (is this a good aproach?)
  2. Double thumping, kinda like picking on a guitar, except you use your thumb.
  3. anonymous278347457

anonymous278347457 Guest

Feb 12, 2005

ahh...thats it....i was wondering how he could play it so fast slapped and i couldent to it at 3/4 of that speed normally...

now...all i have to do it practise double thumping....i didnt actually know Marcus did double thump, i thought it was just that wooten guy
  4. This may be answered around here somewhere, but I sure am having a hard time finding it - But...

I see a lot of discussion about Victor W. and Marcus M. and their double-thump or double-thumb technique - but I am interested in the double-pluck. I get it in theory and I have a pretty good 'standard' thump/pluck technique. I get the double-thumb/thump (can't do it very well, but get it) but when I try to execute the double-pluck my hand acts like it has never played a bass before.

Can someone offer some insight into breaking through the double-pluck? Cuz I would love to be a kickin' double-plucker!

Here is where I am at: