mark king style slap lines

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by The_major_Rajor, Nov 21, 2003.

1. The_major_Rajor

Apr 15, 2003
    hey... I have been playing bass for nearly 2 years now, and have become quite good (I think). I can play fingerstyle, some tapping and harmonics fairly well. jaco... sheehan geddy lee... etc. I have recently turned my attention to slapping, I am able to slap fairly well, can play along with primus and usually whatever else i try to slap out... (bass line from the big money is agreat one to slap over). I have been trying for a while to emulate mark king style slap lines and solos, but i cant seem to get them down as smooth as him. Any tips or advice would be appreciated. (I play for a few hours everyday so I could probally pick up things pretty quickly.)
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    You really need to loosen up your wrist for Mark King stuff, the less force you use the better. Lighter string gauges help too (Mark (used to) use .30-.90).

Still, some stuff is really hard, Mark really has a "fast" wrist.
  3. The_major_Rajor

Apr 15, 2003
    thats what i have been having trouble with.. the really fast thumps and ghost notes.
  4. Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp has lots of mark king lessons and a couple of songs 2. videos, music, tab etc
  5. one thing that i found helpful when trying to learn a song out is to make a chart of the song from what you hear...sit down and absorb the song that you are trying to learn..find out the notes and write out them by going from intro,verse,chorus,verse,etc.

"the worst thing would be if the wife/girlfriend/partner left with the acordian player"
    -TB bass humor & gig stories forum
  6. Kelvin

Apr 30, 2000