1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mark Turner's Harmonic Language

Discussion in 'Ask Janek Gwizdala' started by d-sciple, Oct 18, 2006.

1. Hi, Janek! First, I would like to say I've been listening to your record for a few months now and I keep coming back to it. It sounds amazing. The playing and the writing are top notch. I was thrilled to see the musicians you chose to play with and get to hear some of them in a slightly different context than I have heard them in, one being Mark Turner. I been listening to Turner since his first records and really love his harmonic language and writing. I think he has come into a unique and very identifiable writing and playing style.

So now, (I know what your going to say) I now need to do some transcription work to better figure out what he is doing, but is there anything maybe that you have transcribed or heard in his playing that you could shed some light on? (approaching a 2-5, playing over a vamp etc...) and how doe this effect how you play bass behind him?

Thanks, Tommy

P.S. I'm ready for your second record!!!

2. janekbass

janekbass

Jan 28, 2004
    Los Angeles
    Founder and CEO of http://janeksbassstudio.com
    Tommy,

thanks for your post, and thanks for checking out my record.

I'm actually going to Austin in 10 days to make a new record. It's going to be a completely new thing, and i'm very excited about it. I'm also planning a new record in 2007 with orchestra and quintet. Gary Husband and Tim Miller for sure in the band.

so to your post....

there are a bunch of things that Mark is doing harmonically that are great. He's someone who spends more time with his instrument than anyone since john coltrane, so it's not just the notes he's playing , but more so his connection with his sound and the horn.