1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Markbass comparison cmd121p and F1

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joshbazz, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Joshbazz

Joshbazz Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2016
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    I know I'm late to the Markbass party, but I find this is pretty relevant, and am a faithful proponent in taking advantage of using great used equipment in new applications. Case-in-point, as a web designer, I buy and upgrade 2012 macbook pros with SSDs/Ram for around $500 instead of buying brand new $3000 mbps, and it's working out swimmingly :)

I had always heard of Markbass during my touring days, and didn't get a chance to play any until a couple years ago, where a cmd102p was in the backline at a club. Man – my bass never sounds so good from something so small! I knew I had to get my hands on one of these.

After using almost all of the major brands during 20+ years of gigging, I wanted to go light-weight/high-power and went with a Genz Benz Shuttle 9.0/Uber410 setup. It was massive loud, but I couldn't get into the tone as much. I don't like to EQ the crap out of an amp, if it doesn't sound great flat, I move on. The GB sounded brittle... and fake to my ears... like I could tell it was class D, and was hollow in some way - if that makes any sense. I can hear the difference in bass cables, so my ear may hear some things others do not.

I finally bought a Markbass F1 amp (500 watts, class D) on ebay, and then just scooped up a first version Italian made CMD121p that was in a music shop a couple days ago. I had played a brand new CMD121p made overseas (Indonesia, I think) last month and thought it sounded great, and loved the footprint.

I have played both, trying them side by side here are my thoughts.

The setup: