1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Markbass F-500 in the house!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by David Wilson, Apr 27, 2009.

1. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    OK, so I was perusing Musicians Friend last week and saw they had the new F500 in stock so I had to order it. Given they're showing as out of stock now I'm guessing they only got a handful in. I've been using an LM II for 18 months+, and an F1 for last couple of months so I'm very familiar with the Markbass sound.

I'd mostly used the LMII. I've loved the F1 sound for the modern J tone, but to be honest found it slightly too tight/bright for my tastes when used with other tight/bright sounding basses such as my Status. So I was really interested in the semi parametric features of the F500 and how they might help this.

As expected, F500 is exactly same chassis size as the F1. It has more yellow than the F1 :) since that's the color used to identify the frequency center part of the eq control.

The high mid and high have been combined into one frequency range - it covers from 700hz to 6khz. I didn't really use the high control on the F1, and instead relied more on the VLE knob to roll off high end when needed, so don't think I'll miss it.

The mute push/pull doesn't feel quite as substantial as I had hoped for, but it works fine. There's still a very slight amount of sound let through with mute engaged but much less than on, say, the Eden wt800. I probably won't use the mute much anyway, since I tend to mute using tuner or vol pedal when needed.