Marshall VBA 400

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by VtypeV4, May 25, 2004.

1. Anyone got any thoughts, how do these compare to Ampegs, Fender, Trace etc?
  2. Sammy

Aug 31, 2000
    Very hard to find!

The US distributor in NY said they are still available, but back ordered. Most Mashall dealers I've talked to have never seen a VBA (focused purely on guitars amps). :rolleyes:

3. Cheers man, I just wondered cuz i hardly ever see any over here in the UK either. I work as a sound engineer and ive only ever seen one band with one. Id like to test one against my Trace Elliot V4 to see how good they are...
  4. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    I believe that there was a thread on the VBA 400 not too long ago. Did you do a search?
  5. sub forum

sub forum

Jan 2, 2004
    i have owned a vba 400 for 3 years ,its loud and heavy ,however i changed the pre amp valves ecc83's x3 & ecc82x1 so that i could get the tone i was after,the amp is great but the stock valves are a bit lifeless .
  6. Cool man, the VBA 400 is becoming more of a potential replacement as my Trace elliot is having serious reliability issues...
  7. Henko

Oct 15, 2002
    I own one too and like it a lot. Not alot tone options though. No problem since I like the sound and always loose myself in too many tone options.

Hey sub forum! What tubes did you put in instead of the stock ones? What did it do to your sound?

8. sub forum

sub forum

Jan 2, 2004
    hi Henko ,
    i changed the ecc83's for jjtesla's and the ecc82 to a philips .
    The new tubes make my amp sound great. The teslas give a great rock tone with very rounded bottom end ,a more defined mid range and biting treble not the glassy treble you expect from a transistor amp.

they were very helpful and all the test results are there to see online . I have no regrets changing the pre amp valves it just makes a good amp into a great amp :cool:
  9. Jackbass

Dec 19, 2003
    Paris (FRANCE)