Massive Amp Confusion...advice needed

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mikarre, Oct 30, 2003.

1. mikarre

mikarre Guest

I am a bassist without a band at this point, but I am going to try to find one soon. Right now the only amp I have is a little Peavey Microbass, which is fine for practice and carrying to jam with friends. I am really confused about what to do as far as upgrading my amp setup. Everything seems so dependant on what band you are in, and I have no way of anticipating that at this point. I could wind up playing anything from metal to light jazz, whatever situation I find that is best.

How can I know what rig I should be looking into if I don't even know what I will be playing? I would love to just wait and see, but what band would ever hire a bassist that shows up at audition with a 20 watt practice amp?:( I don't want to seem like an unprofessional yo yo.

I was really turned on to the Ampeg B100R at one point. Sounded great and it's at a great price, and seems right in the middle of the road between a big rig and a home amp. My concern is that it won't be powerful enough. I read some reviews that say it is, and some that say no. I thought it seemed loud to me. I also don't like the fact that it only has a 1/4" line out jack. I wouldn't mind mic'ing it, but I can see that leading to conflicts with uncooperative sound guys.

Another option is just to break down and get a powerful amp and seperate cab. I was thinking about the Hartke 3500 with either a Hartke VX or Avatar cab. Yes, money is an issue, so this is the least preferred option at this point.

And option number three is just to get a good DI unit, since it seems like sound guys want you to go direct usually anyway. The thing I have against this option is that I don't see how it would help me in an audition.