Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

"Master of Bass, Nick Beggs"

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by bearclaw, Nov 13, 2000.

1. bearclaw

bearclaw

Nov 13, 2000
    For anyone interested in hearing a fine musician/bassist, pay close attention. I had the opportunity to study with Nick while residing in London recently. He by far is one of the most gifted players to ever pick up the bass!! His self taught Stick playing and slap bass technique is impeccable indeed!! I highly recommend purchasing one of his Kajagoogoo records, if at all accessible. Their records are out of print here in the States. The "White Feathers" album is a good representation of Nick's unorthodox style of slap playing.

2. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    Nick's currently working on a solo stick and loops project that promises to be pretty out there! It's also well worth catching him playing with Howard Jones band if they come near you, or John Paul Jones trio...

see http://www.nickbeggs.co.uk for more info on him

steve
    http://www.steve-lawson.co.uk

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I do remember being impressed by the bass lines on some Kajagoogoo tracks - "Too Shy" is obviously the most well known and starts with a great bass riff. But I think a lot of people were put off by their "image" - dodgy haircuts etc. into thinking that they weren't really serious musicians... or at least that they weren't very "tasteful" - it wasn't wise to mention that you liked Kajagoogoo amongst most of the people I mixed with in the 80s!! ;)

4. bearclaw

bearclaw

Nov 13, 2000