1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Matching pre-head QSC PLX2402 and fx-1

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pedroims, Apr 6, 2009.

1. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    I read Bongomania thread about matching pre and power head, but still have a question, currently I have a QSC PLX4202 with an input sensivity of 1.5 Vrms @8ohms and 1.3 Vrms @ 4ohms, and I want to add a pre amp, will an Alembic FX-1 drive this head? I could not find the specs for the FX-1.

Really appreciate your comments, this is my first time buying a preamp.

My other options are DB689 or a Demeter.

2. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    Anyone?

3. They all should do well, I run an Aguilar DB680 into a QSC PLX 3102 and sometimes, an Ampeg SVT IIP, with no problems.
    The preamps you mention all have enough output to match the input sensitivity of the QSC.
    Just one question....a PLX 4202? Are you trying to start a black hole?:bassist:

4. pedroims

pedroims

Dec 19, 2007
    Michigan
    Thanks !!

actually is a 2402 but I bet there are some crazy guys around that will be happy with a 4202 giving 20,000 @ 4ohms :D

5. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Just for clarity, and no offense intended to wonkey, but he does not say he actually knows what the output voltage rating of the Alembic is. ;) Then again, neither do I.

6. Mo'Phat

Mo'Phat Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2003
    San Diego, CA, USA
    I would assume that most rack mount pre's have plenty of voltage to drive a power amp sufficiently. It's those little tabletop ones that are normally used in-studio that I'd think you should be concerned with.

7. bongomania

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR