Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Matt Pulcinella Level 5 JJ Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by j-raj, Jan 14, 2003.

1. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    Any one have any thoughts about Matt Pulcinella Level 5 JJ Basses....

I've been playing the same Fender Jazzbass for 8 years and it has seen a lot of work... I'm looking for a solid 'working tool' to be part of my regular gig. I was thinking about a 5 string MM Stingray, but for around the same price MPG offers a great five string (from what I have been told and read)... Are there any users out there that could give me their opinion?

Any Atlanta Residents with MPG Level 5... please contact me, I would like to try one of these basses out... without having to drive to PA.

2. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    They had a used one at the Warrior Gallery on Piedmont Rd.

3. My only advice is that the Level 5's and JJ's sound tremendously different from bass to bass because of all the different wood, pickup, and preamp options.

I had an alder/pau ferro one with Bart J pickups and Bart preamp that was great for fingerstyle but not great for slap, and a mahogany/pau ferro one with Basslines soapbars and Basslines pre that sounded GREAT for slap, but muddy for fingerstyle.

Your best bet really IS to play one, although I know that's a tough proposition.

I think on his web site under "sold basses", he mentions that some of the ones he's made have gone to Atlanta. . .

4. j-raj

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    WoodChuck,