Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Maturing in harmony famliarization

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by LiquidMidnight, Jan 30, 2003.

1. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I created this thread to see what others opinions and expierences have been. I have found that as I mature as a musician, my ear also mature's in understanding and appreciating deeper harmonic structures and textures. An example I always use is a simple one: Shine on You Crazy Diamond by Pink Floyd. I remember years back when I first heard that song, the motif chord sounded very dissonant to me. Now it sounds perfect. I've found that with many harmonies in many styles of music. What sounded dissonant to me back then, sounds perfectly in tune to me now.

What are your thoughts and opinions?

2. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    I've found that just the past year of learning theory and learning to understand the relationship between the notes I play helps me understand music better as a listener.

I can hear strings of notes and (simple) harmonies almost inifinitely clearer than before... still SO far to go tho :)

3. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Yeah, I've found that too, Liquid. I remember a finding 7b9 chords a bit dissonant to begin with.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well I never heard anything dissonant in that album from the first time I heard it!! :confused:

You want "dissonant" try : (late) Schonberg, Berg, Webern, Stockhausen!! ;)

5. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Heh - yes, but do they get any less dissonant as time goes on? :D

6. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Western(i.e. not C&W) music has gotten more & more dissonant over the past 100 years(?).

So-