Maximizing practice time and learning new music

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by GreggBummer, Dec 10, 2021.

1. Following the lifting of pandemic restrictions, I found that I have a lot more work. I am playing in several cover bands. This is great, I'm enjoying it. However, I'm struggling to learn 60 to 100 songs in a few months time. My day job is demanding of my time, but I set aside time each day to practice. It could be as little as 15 minutes or as much as 2 hours. I'd like to maximize that time.

What I'm doing now: I usually print out a lyric sheet with chords. If one doesn't exist, I'll make one. I will sit and listen to a song and write notes in the margins regarding the arraignment. Tempo, feel, rests, parts that I will sing, etc. I usually have this sheet on a stand when I practice with the band for the "first run through". I'll add to the notation as required. I take it home and use that for practice. I find myself playing along to whatever youtube/mp3/streaming has the song. Next practice the sheet isn't on the stand, it stays in a binder. If I need it, its there.

I feel like this is a slow way of learning a lot of songs. Also, I'm finding that my woodshed time- general learning and practicing more- has been impacted. I'm not looking for a magic bullet solution, I don't mind putting in the time. I want to use what time I have more efficiently. I'm curious how you do it.

I'm a weekend warrior, hobbyist, or amateur musician. I have taken lessons on and off since 1989, but I am primarily a self-taught player. I can read a little, have a working knowledge of chord theory and harmony. I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination.

2. Malcolm35

Malcolm35 Supporting Member

As a hobbyist do you take sheet music on stage? I played for 25 years and everybody used fake chord sheet music. Now that you know your chords and have the fundamentals down yes, it's time to practice using sheet music on songs you will be playing.