Maybe too old to change ??

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by chuck1155, Feb 27, 2003.

1. chuck1155

Feb 27, 2003

I'm new here. I have a desire to be able to play with a jazz group at a local level (playing mainly standards).

I have a story but I won't bore you with all the details, only a few. I am 47 yrs old and been playing the guitar (off and on) for many years. I have a reasonable grasp of music theory- understanding chords and scale construction, arpeggios, and can read music . I have experimented with numerous musical styles (classical, blues, fingerstye, jazz, bluegrass, country) . I am actually a fairly decent rhythm guitarist in most musical styles (not much demand for this except in Django gyspy jazz which I love but can't really find anyone locally to hookup with). I can play some lead, I have decent technique with lead work but the reality is I just don't have the creativity or the 'ear' to excel at this in jazz and be in the spotlight (I'm no Wes or Django). I have also played some violin (for about 4 years), some electric bass, and a couple of years of piano, and a little mandolin and drums.

Lately I have been considering seriously studying the bass. I have become increasingly frustrasted with the guitar and don't believe I can pull off playing that in a jazz group (except for the rhythm part again).With the bass, I believe I could learn enough to be able to play jazz gigs within a few years. But that would only be with the electric bass (I think I could handle the fretless) and jazz primarily uses the upright bass.

So, do I take on this challenge of learning the upright? And a challenge it would be since I have some degree of tendonitis in my left hand. I was thinking of renting an instrument and taking a few lessons to test the waters and see if I could really make the transition after all these years, plus I really wonder about that tendonitis.