1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Melodic solo for church

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Lowtrac, Jun 27, 2007.

1. Lowtrac

Lowtrac

Dec 13, 2006
    Senoia, GA
    I'm a beginning bassist, and I'm looking for an easy to moderately difficult piece to play at church. I've been practicing with the praise band, and we're about to start doing instrumentals during our offering/prayer time. I'd like to play a solo one Sunday, so it needs to be worshipful. I don't think a pop and slap funk piece would really work well. Any opinions?

2. TyronPotamkin

TyronPotamkin

Dec 12, 2006
    Any major scale played in full is usually considered melodic depending on how it is played. It starts to turn a bit bluesy when played as a pentatonic scale. Figure out what key the rest of the band will be playing in and use the major scale of that key to solo over.

3. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    Just pick a tune you like and play the melody as spiritually as you can. Improvise some on the melody. If you can find a copy of Dave Holland's CD Ones All it is all unaccompanied bass. He does a beautiful version of God Bless The Child as well as other tunes. Marcus Miller's last CD Silver Rain he does the Lord's Prayer mainly on sax, but it will give you an idea of how to just take a melody and embellish on it and that is enough. Even start the tune and have the band join in will move people. It doesn't have to be fancy, if your soul comes thru job done.

4. JKT

JKT

Apr 30, 2007
    Buffalo NY
    Endorsing Artist: Barker Basses