Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mesa 400+ and tube-changing

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by carl-anton, May 2, 2002.

1. Hi,
    Can anybody describe how the Mesa 400+ would sound like, when it needs new tubes. A friend of mine owns one, and though it has a nice tone, it sounds like it can't control it. The sound is very blurred and unfocused, and the low freq, seem way too boomy. (in comparison to my SWR750, that is). Would new tubes give a more focused sound, or is this just the way a tube amp sounds?.
    I'm asking because I can get a 400+ with 2x15 fairly cheep, but I have no experience in tubes yet.

Thanks

2. TCollins

TCollins

Apr 4, 2000
    I was wondering the same thing! I have a Mesa 400+ that will be two years old this coming Sept. I understand that Mesa reccommends changing your tubes every two years (right?)--Also, does this mean that you should change ALL the tubes including the four 12AX7s?
    How about some help from you veteran Mesa 400+ owners? What should we be listening/watching for when it comes to changing tubes?

Many thanks!!

3. Unless you have been are using that amp every night for the last two years I wouldn't worry too much about it. The 400+ is like playing through a rainbow IMO. If you do decide to swap it is very easy as the Mesa's are a fixed bias. Just stick the new tubes right in there. My drummer dropped mine so I ended up swapping my old 6550's for some newer 5881's. I got a far deeper bottom and a VERY solid tone. that was fun!
    Your pal's amp shouldn't sound boomy. have him run it fairly flat ( all the controls at "5") w/o that graphic and see what he thinks. the 400+ needs very little eq-ing to sound good.

4. I have two of them.