1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mesa Boogie 400+?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Melkin, Apr 14, 2015.

1. Melkin

Melkin

Apr 14, 2015
    Sweden
    Hello fellow bassplayers!
    Im a bassist from Sweden and new on TB. I just sold my M/B Basis M-2000 and i am now looking for a new amp head. Got a decent budget now and I want to get the real deal and settle down ;)
    We have a Swedish version of TB and on there everybody is crazy about the M/B 400+. I have now been offered to buy one, well two actually. One is the version with a 6 band EQ wich is the one that is closer to me geographically The other one is further away and has a 7 band EQ. Both same price. I've never gotten a chance to try one but gonna go try a friends 400 tomorrow. So first qustion is: Does anyone know if there is any noticable difference between the two EQ versions? Is one better sounding than the other?
    Question number two: I play some kinda Alt-Rock, Funk, Punk/Rock music and do a fair deal of slapping Les Claypool/ Flea style, NOT the Marcus Miller, Victor Wooten kinda slap. I like a raw big sound but also appreciate the modern clean tone of Flea.
    You guys think a 400+ would suit me at all or should I look into more SS amps instead of Tube?
    I just missed out on a Aguilar db750 that was recommended to me..

2. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    Definitely go and check it out, that's the best way to tell if it's for you or not.
    It would work very well for what you're describing. I do believe that Les Claypool used 400+'s for a while.
    I believe the 6 band EQ models were just the earliest versions, and the 7 band came out a little later. I have a 6 band myself.