Mesa/Boogie 400+

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jock, Jul 21, 2000.

1. jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I stumbled over a used Mesa 400+ at my local dealer the other day. I really like the sound of it and I like the fact that I can change the tubes myself without biastweeking.
    Whats your opinions about it?
  2. killer B

killer B

Apr 18, 2000
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    The MESA/Boogie Bass 400+ Rules! I've used one for over a year now and am very happy. Very flexiable eq, tons of punch and a great tone. I've used in the past an Ampeg SVT IV, and an Ampeg SVT 350H (which I sometimes connect to the slave out on the boogie and then add even more speakers, for EVEN more low end)The amp responds really well to dynamics and makes you really present in the mix. The customer service from MESA/Boogie also can't be beat, whether you bought your amp new or used. I highly recomend this head.
  3. I have been using the 400+ for just under 6 months and also love mine. The louder you turn it up the better it sounds ( although it still sounds great at low volume, but who wants that !!? ). I also have the 6*10 and 2*15 diesal cabs, they also kick ass. I would like to recomend to you the Svetlana 6L6GC tubes for that amp, if you buy tubes from Mesa they are good but way to over-priced. Try :, they are a lot cheaper and they will match them to fit your Mesa. Have fun with your Mesa,

4. timv

timv Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2000
    Chandler, AZ