Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mesa Boogie heads

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassguy187, Mar 26, 2001.

1. bassguy187

bassguy187

Jun 27, 2000
    Nazo, PA
    hey do any of you know how good mesa's
    tube bass amp heads are? i could have bought a used one
    that had 8 6550s (400 watts all tube) for 850 used at this guitar store by my house instead of the ampeg svt cl which i bought for 750 over ebay,
    i'm just wondering if the other was better,
    i ended up having to pay to get my ampeg fixed up
    anyway and i'm wondering if i should have gotten the other
    one?

2. If the Mesa/Boogie head was the 400+, the thing rocks........I have no hands on experience with Ampeg, but I know they jave a great reputation.....I love M/B though......Hey they sell for about the same price, so it's all a matter of what you like better......Can't lose either way......

3. winston

winston Supporting Member

May 2, 2000
    Berkeley, CA
    I've got the older Mesa-Boogie Bass 400 (with 6-6550's) and it's a great amp. It has a big, fat, clear, and cutting sound. Aside from tube issues it's held up well in the 2 years I've had it and sounds fabulous through good cabinets. With an SWR 2x10/1x15 setup I've never had to turn it above 5, even in large clubs. The newer Bass 400 plus has 12-6L6's and puts out about 500 watts.