1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Mesa M9 Carbine vs. Aguilar DB-750/751

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JCdub, Apr 7, 2009.

1. JCdub

JCdub

Jul 10, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    I have been using an Ampeg SVT 4pro for 10 years now and I am looking to upgrade. Does anyone have any opinions on the carbine compared to the aguilar (I know the 751 isn't out yet)

:bassist:

2. whoatherechunk

whoatherechunk

Apr 4, 2008
    well are you looking all tube or hybrid?

3. svtb15

svtb15

Mar 22, 2004
    Austin,TX - McKinney,TX - NY,NY, - Nashville,TN
    I play it all. Whatever works for the gig
    Well all i know is that the Mesa is less expensive.. I haven't tried the 751 yet. i have tried the 750 and it is a monster...
    The mesa is about 1199 i tried the M6 which is 300 watts less than the M9 and its loud... the M9 would most likely just slam

4. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Haven't tried the M9 yet, but owned an M6 for some time, and now own a DB750.

HUGE price difference aside ($1000 or more if you're talking brand new), they are totally different animals. The main similarities between the two (well, the M6 and the DB750) are that they are both loud as hell. The M6 "feels" like it's much more than the 600 watts it supposedly is, so I can only imagine that the M9 will be a monster. But the DB750 is quite possibly the most powerful feeling head I've ever played through, IMO.

I'll leave the tonal descriptions to the guys who are better at describing that sort of thing.........;)

5. They're both hybrids aren't they?

6. JCdub

JCdub

Jul 10, 2007
    Long Island, NY
    Yes, They are BOTH Hybrids.

Price IS NOT an issue to me since I believe in getting the best of the best and making it last.:cool: