1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Metacarpophalangeal joint pain

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by petergp, Apr 16, 2010.

1. petergp

petergp

Apr 16, 2010
    Buenos Aires
    Hi everyone, im new around here.
    Well, i've been playing for 4 years or so and every now and then, when i play for several hours straight (rehearsals, for example) it starts aching in the base of the pointer and index finger of the right hand (im right handed, for bass at least) and it really disturbs my technical capacities. is this kind of pain normal? should i worry? anyway, i know you aren't doctors, but you are bassists, thought you could share experiences.
    thanks!

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    pain is never normal. could be a technique issue, could be you're overdoing it. might want to get a professional opinion about your technique from a good teacher.

3. Fergie Fulton

Fergie Fulton

Nov 22, 2008
    Braintree
    Retrovibe Artist rota
    As Jimmy on this, pain is not really an option. If you are struggling to find a teacher i will ask one question of you before i give advice. Are your fingers straight or do they have a curl to them when you play.?
    Any pictures or footage would be great.

4. Asher S

Asher S

Jan 31, 2008
    MA
    Agreed with above, to have a pro watch you play and check your technique.

Also consider trying the floating thumb technique, particularly if you play 5+ strings. That alone cleared up my right hand joint pain in a few days. Here's a very clear demonstration of the technique, including the rationale behind it:

5. petergp

petergp

Apr 16, 2010
    Buenos Aires