1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Metal Bass amp on budget.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Scopey, Mar 26, 2013.

1. Scopey

Scopey

Mar 26, 2013
    Denmark
    Hi. I am new to bass and want to get a amp for Old School Heavy Metal, NWOBH and Thrash Metal.

I have searched the forums abit but the information around seems either old or too expensive for my budget.

I mainly plan to play at home to practice so I don't need something huge but I want something with good sound. Being able to carry it around would be a plus.

Budget: 400 USD (I know not much)
    Preferable a combo
    Style: Finger
    Is it okay to buy 2nd hands?

Thanks

2. With that budget, you need to shop used.

Combo's are for weenies, go find a used head 300-500 watts used, and find an 8 ohm 410. Then when budget allows go find a second matching cab.

3. Scopey

Scopey

Mar 26, 2013
    Denmark
    From what I understand the watt is the power of the amp right? I am not sure if I need something that powerful since I just play at home and most of the time I will be using headphones not to distrupt neighbours (very thin walls). So i just need something with good sound quality. The 8 ohm 410 bit is like a foreign language (beginner here :( ) I have to read on it.

But thank for the comment

4. KodyAudette

KodyAudette

Apr 30, 2012
    Albuquerque