Metal Speaker Cone Design

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by zac2944, Apr 22, 2005.

1. zac2944

zac2944 Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    I hope this isn't off topic, but I would like to learn about speaker driver design and could use some help getting started.

I am a mechanical engineer by day and a bassist by night. I am interested in investigating the feasibility of creating a one piece metal speaker cone/dustcap/surrond using a process called electroforming. I know everything about electroforming, but nothing about speaker cone design. I have been able to find tons of info on box/enclosure design, but very little on the design of the actual driver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. If you're wondering what the hell electroforming is you can check out an explanation on my company's web site .
  2. zac2944

Dec 28, 2004
    Rochester, NY
  3. BassIan

BassIan Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2003
    Cupertino, California
    This sounds pretty interesting. As a studying mechanical engineer, I want to come in and say a few things.