metric parts

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by spaceman, Dec 13, 2002.

1. I have a Yamaha RBX bass. The parts on it appear to be mainly metric sized.

However, when I look at most places which sell bass parts (e.g. stewmac) the parts appear to be in English (aka Imperial) dimensions.

Are there any places that sell metric sized parts? (I believe this is more than just a matter of converting the units!)

2. In my experience all parts are done in basically imperial units. A lot of places will have it converted already, which allparts do, so 1.5 inchs = 38mm for a jazz topnut for example. I have looked at various manufacturers parts and they always seem to be imperial based. This includes schaller, gotoh, ABM, Hipshot, Leo Quan, Grover and many others. If you try converting a few of your measurements i would be surprised if they did not convert nicely, but i may be wrong, i have no experience of Yamaha basses. I personally tend to use Allparts and WD products for ordering components and they are allways very helpful. Maybe you could try calling them up with your requirements and see if they can suggest anything? Just an idea.
    Good Luck H
  3. Hmmm... not sure that I'm convinced that my bass is really made in "English" units! The nut looks like it's exactly 40mm across. Also, to adjust the saddle height I have to use a metric Allen wrench.

Also to disconnect the tone and volume controls a metric wrench fit best. (For the 1/4" jack a non-metric wrench works best of course!)