Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Metronome helping or is it all in the mind?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by karrot-x, Dec 9, 2004.

1. karrot-x

karrot-x Banned

Feb 21, 2004
    Omicron Persei 8
    Well, I've been playing for 3 years this christmas and I started out having awful rhythm and about last year it turned to just bad. Recently (within the last 3 days) I've been practicing with a metronome constantly, and just running through my normal doodle and play time. I feel that already after 3 days my rhythm has improved tremendously...could this be possible? Is it all in my mind and I'm still off every 17.4 beats? I'm just really happy with the increase and it's seemed to boost my creativity.

So....could the metronome have helped so fast or am I still gradually getting better timing?

2. metronomes help TREMENDOUSLY. Everyone should own one and should practice with one regularly. They help synchronize that eternal clock. Also it is good to get into a habit of counting rythms too. Like 1-ee-and-a 2-ee-and-a (etc..)

Take some drum lessons, too. They'll pay off in the bass playing department in spades.

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Oh, yes-yes. The Metronome will do it.

Joe

4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Definitely. Drummers help LOADS too. My timing was kinda nasty until I started playing with people a LOT, and it's really tight now.