Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Metronomes and Jeff Berlin

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Apr 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    What's the deal with the hatred for metronomes. I just read Jeff Berlins advice to a newbie - saying as I've heard before - "no metronomes".

I started practicing with a metronome a couple of years ago and it has improved my playing immeasurably. It has made me a way tighter, more precise player - has helped with my speed, strength, sense of time and overall ability.

I could see somebody saying they don't like metronomes, or they don't think they're helpful to them - but to constantly put the things down as being usesless is being a bit thoughtless (IMO). Metronomes are a great practice tool for some of us not so accomplished players.

Anybody with or against me on this?

Gazman likes this.
  2. Okay, let's start with the assumption that this isn't an April Fool's Day joke ( which I hope it is ).

I can see someone having an argument against metronomes. You shouldn't have to rely on a metronome to stay in time. However, you have to be able to stay in time with one. My timing was always my biggest weakness because I rarely played with a metronome or even a drummer ( for the past few years ). When I have gotten together with drummers, my time was crap. Lately, I have been practing my ass off with a metronome and my time has improved 1000%. Even when I'm not playing with the metronome, I can feel that my playing has improved.

The bottom line ( no pun intended ) is that for every person who tells you that you shouldn't play with a metronome, there will probably be 1000 people that tell you the exact opposite.

Sincerely,

Dave

3. Bruce Lindfield